It’s a Sign



Zodiac- /ˈzōdēˌak/- Zo-di-ac . (Circle of little animals). Noun

“A belt of the heavens within about 8° either side of the ecliptic, including all apparent positions of the sun, moon, and most familiar planets. It is divided into twelve equal divisions or signs.” (Oxford Languages).

This ancient word zodiac originates from the old world of Babylonia, in early 400 B.C. The Babylonians used the zodiac to predict the personalities and characteristics of individuals born by observing birth time, movement of astral bodies, and constellations.

The Babylonians also split up the year into 12 different signs that represented the main personality traits. Each sign in the zodiac has an assigned element, constellation, description, planet, and symbol. The list of signs goes as followed:


Sign Symbol Babylonian Symbol Glyph Element Longitude Planet Dates
Aries Ram Agrarian Worker Fire 0° Mars Mar 21- Apr 20
Taurus Bull Divine Bull of Heaven Earth 30° Venus Apr 21- May 20
Gemini Twins Great Twins (Founders of Rome) Air 60° Mercury May 21- June 20
Cancer Crab Crayfish Water 90° Moon Jun 21- Jul 22
Leo Lion Lion Fire 120° Sun Jul 23- Aug 22
Virgo Maiden The Furrow Earth 150° Mercury Aug 23- Sep 22
Libra Scales Scales Air 180° Venus Sept 23- Oct 22
Scorpio Scorpion Scorpion Water 210° Pluto/ Mars Oct 23- Nov 22
Sagittarius Archer Soldiers Fire 240° Jupiter Nov 23- Dec 21
Capricorn Sea-Goat Goat- Fish Earth 270° Saturn Dec 22- Jan 19
Aquarius Water-bearer Great One Air 300° Uranus/ Saturn Jan 20- Feb 19
Pisces Two Fish Tail of The Swallow Water 330° Neptune/ Jupiter Feb 20 – Mar 20


How to Find Your Zodiac Sign

Put beautifully by Jaden Musacchio… “If the moon can do enough to change the tides, the stars and planets must have some effect on the person we are meant to be.” In fact, the stars and planets do have an effect on who we are as people… at least in an astrologer’s eyes. The sun sign, which governs personality and symbolizes your fundamental self, is determined by your date of birth. Because the sun sign is one’s inner-self and ego, it’s the one people most commonly known. However, the world of astrology doesn’t stop there. Based on your date of birth, birthplace, and birth time, you can calculate your full birth chart, which reveals the positions and locations of the planets and stars at the exact moment you were born. Each planet symbolizes and rules a different aspect of life. The moon represents and reflects inner emotions and moods. Mercury is the planet of communication, reflecting logic, intelligence, and rationality. Venus is the planet of love, beauty, and taste. Mars represents determination and aggression. Jupiter symbolizes philosophy and spirituality. Saturn determines success and professional achievements. Uranus is the planet of rebellion and innovation. Pluto symbolizes power and transformation. All these planets and the zodiacs layer together to give you an in-depth birth chart that reveals motivations, desires, and who you are in this universe. Not only that, being able to understand and interpret one’s birth chart can guide us through our lives and help each of us make decisions, whether it’s day-to-day or the future ones to come.

All in all, at the end of the day the zodiac is whatever you want it to be. Silly, make-believe nonsense, a cultivated art, a form of worship, or merely just a hobby.